What Asian Sauces Are Gluten Free?

Asian food is an extremely popular cuisine that uses lots of different ingredients and sauces. Many people are cooking at home and exploring new recipes.  This makes it important to know what is in the sauce you are using when cooking especially in Asian cuisine. So, what Asian sauces are Gluten Free?

This list of Asian sauces are naturally gluten free. However, there are more asian sauces that have a have a gluten free version available. (Listed below) There are different reasons why knowing which are gluten free. These include different intolerances to ingredients & different choices people make when it comes to the diet they follow.

  •  Plum sauce
  •  Duck Sauce
  •  Rice Vinegar
  •  Tamari
  •  Fish Sauce

All of the gluten free Asian sauces can be bought easily online or in your local store. Fish sauce is generally gluten free but some manufacturers have started to include wheat so you must check the ingredients before you use them. Soy sauce, Teriyaki Sauce, Hoisin Sauce, and Oyster sauce are the condiments that come in a gluten free version rather than as standard.  

Below is a list of Asian sauces that have a Gluten Free version available

  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Hoisin Sauce
  • Oyster Sauce
  • Soy Sauce
Tamari sauce in a clear bottle with grains in a wooden bowl behind it

What Asian Sauces Are Vegan-Friendly?

Although many Asian sauces are vegan not all of them are. We have looked at the most popularv vegan sauces and listed them below. 

  • Soy Sauce 
  • Sesame Oil
  • Plum Sauce
  • Duck Sauce
  • Rice Wine (shaoxing wine)
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Tamari Sauce

Although Hoisin Sauce is Generally Vegan-friendly it is not on the above list. This is because some manufacturers will use preservatives and other colorings which may not be vegan-friendly. This is another reason tho check the labels of any product. 

Asian Sauce Substitutions

Whilst there are other substitutes available the sauces listed are the closest to the original flavor.

Soy Sauce Substitue – Cocnut Aminos And Tamari

Fish Sauce Substitute – Coconut Aminos, Tamari, Gluten Free Soy Sauce

Hoisin Sauce Substitue – Gluten Free Oyster Sauce, Tamari, Gluten Free Soy Sauce 

Rice Wine (Shaoxing wine) Substitute – Vegan Dry Sherry/ Mirrin

Oyster Sauce Substitute – Tamari

Gluten Free Asian Sauces

In this helpful table, you can quickly see which Asian cooking sauces are either gluten-free or made as a gluten-free version.

chart of gluten free asian sauces andif gluten free version is avaliable

Always check the ingredients on the label of the brand you have bought to make sure the product is suitable for your needs.

Vegan-Friendly Asian Sauces

In this helpful table, you can quickly see which Asian cooking sauces are Vegan-Friendly. Check the notes to see where substitutions or another sauce should be used. 

Vegan Friendly Asian Sauces List With Altenatives

Always check the ingredients on the label of the brand you have bought to make sure the product is suitable for your needs.

Gluten Free And Vegan-Friendly Asian Sauces

In this helpful table, you can quickly see which Asian cooking sauces are both Gluten free and Vegan-Friendly. Check the substitutions column to see which are the most relevant sauces to swap out for another sauce. 

Although there are other substitute sauce options you can use. the ones listed here are the ones closest to the original it will call for in the recipe. 

It is also worth noting that some recipes do not consider some of these sauces to contain gluten or suggest they are vegan-friendly when they are not.

Our suggestion is always to read the ingredients on the label and to see if an ingredient is made in the proper environment to support your needs. stay as close to the original taste should be used. 

Gluten Free And Vegan-friendly Asian Sauces table

Always check the ingredients on the label of the brand you have bought to make sure the product is suitable for your needs.

Make it easy to find this list of What Asian Sauces Are Gluten Free again by saving the below image to your Pinterest account.

Asian oyster sauce being poured onto a spoon

Newsletter

[We may earn money or receive products from the companies mentioned in this post. This will not affect the price of the product. Medical Disclaimer: All the calculators on this website are for information only. You should talk with your medical professional when seeking advice about a medical condition, new diet, exercise program or any information gained from this webiste and its tools/calculators.] © COPYRIGHT YOUR NEW FOODS 2023